Conference Chairs

  • Nigel Powers Conference Chair

    Nigel is currently the Manager Operations - South Western Victoria for VicRoads and leads the maintenance, management and improvement of the road network in this part of the state. He has over 15 years experience with bridges and structures and has fulfilled various roles including the planning, design, construction, maintenance and operation of bridges and other road structures.

    Nigel has a passion for bridges which has led to roles on the Austroads Bridge Task Force and the Standards Australia Committee reviewing AS5100 - Australian Bridge Design Code. He also has a passion for working with academia to further research in the industry which has led partnering with various Universities to undertake research on bridge maintenance, management and rehabilitation. In 2014 Nigel formed the Australian branch of IABMAS and is the founding President.

  • Professor Dan Frangopol Conference Chair

    Dr. Dan Frangopol is the inaugural holder of the Fazlur R. Khan Endowed Chair of Structural Engineering and Architecture at Lehigh University. Before joining Lehigh University in 2006, he was Professor of Civil Engineering at the University of Colorado at Boulder, where he is now Professor Emeritus. In 1976, he received his doctorate in Applied Sciences from the University of Liège, Belgium. He is recognized as a leader in the field of life-cycle engineering of civil and marine structures, whose work has had a significant impact on bridge and infrastructure engineering.

    Dr. Frangopol is the Founding President of the International Associations for Bridge Maintenance and Safety (IABMAS) and Life-Cycle Civil Engineering (IALCCE). He has authored/co-authored 2 books, 40 book chapters, over 350 articles in archival journals including 9 prize winning papers, and many papers in conference proceedings. He is the Founding Editor of the international peer-reviewed journal Structure and Infrastructure Engineering and of the Book Series Structures and Infrastructures. Dr. Frangopol is the recipient of several medals, awards, and prizes, from ASCE, IABSE, IASSAR, and other professional organizations, such as the OPAL Award, the Newmark Medal, the Ang Award, the T.Y. Lin Medal, and the Croes Medal (twice), to name a few. He holds 4 honorary doctorates and 12 honorary professorships from major universities. He is a foreign member of the Academia Europaea (London) and of the Royal Academy of Belgium, an Honorary Member of the Romanian Academy of Technical Sciences, and a Distinguished Member of ASCE.

  • Professor Frieder Seible Honorary Conference Chair

    Professor Frieder Seible is Academic Vice-President, Dean of the Faculty of Engineering and Dean of the Faculty of Information Technology at Monash University. He is an Elected Fellow of the US Academy of Engineering (NAE), the Australian Academy of Technological Sciences and Engineering (ATSE) and a Foreign Fellow of the Chinese Academy of Engineering (CAE).

    As the Dean of the Faculties of Engineering and Information Technology at Monash University, Professor Seible’s responsibilities include strategic planning and operations, faculty-wide research and education initiatives, academic affairs, and Monash-wide cooperative programs. As an Academic Vice-President, he is responsible for a range of external and international engagement initiatives at Monash.

  • Key Dates
  • Call for Abstracts Closed
  • Registration Open November 2017
  • Notification of Acceptance of Abstract 15 September 2017
  • Full Paper Submission open 15 September 2017
  • Full Paper Final Submission Deadline 17 November 2017
  • Notification of Full Paper acceptance 18 December 2017
  • Final Paper Submission12 January 2018
  • Early bird Registration closes 2 March 2018
  • Conference 9-13 July 2018

IABMAS 2018 Hosted by

Vic Roads

Mondash University

Swinburne University

RMIT University